2023 CARO-COMP JSM Award Winners

Radiation Oncology Resident Awards

Best of the Resident Oral Presentation Session

Winner: #3 Eric Zhao - Plasma EBV DNA in nasopharyngeal cancer (NPC) treated with definitive radiotherapy

Best Resident Poster Presentation

Winner: Bayan Malakouti-Nejad - Recurrence rates and patterns in locally advanced cervical cancer in the IMRT era: a single institution experience

Best Oral Presentation on Brachytherapy for Resident or Fellow

Winner: #47 Raphael Rezhallah - Long-term disease-free survival and health-related quality of life results of high-dose-rate brachytherapy as monotherapy for low and intermediate-risk prostate cancer treated in a community cancer centre

Jean Roy Resident Memorial Award

Winner: Matthew Volpini

CARO Open Awards

Best Abstract in Clinical and Population-based Oncology

Winner: Donna Liao - #1 Analysis of hodgkin's lymphoma patients with incomplete metabolic response after first-line systemic therapy

Best Abstract in Survivorship Award

Winner: Ella Mae Cruz-Lim - #31 Prospective longitudinal assessment of quality of life after stereotactic ablative radiotherapy for oligometastases: analysis of the population-based sabr-5 Phase II trial

Best Abstract in Supportive Care Award

Winner: Vanessa Di Lalla #92 - Hypofractionated dose-intensified palliative radiotherapy: 25 gy in 5 fractions for enhanced symptom control

Best Abstract in Education Award

Winner: Rachel Jin #13 - Impact of national conference-associated medical student research and mentorship award in radiation oncology on medical students, resident mentors, and research project supervisors

Radiation Therapy Award

Winner: Marc LeBlanc #150 - Success is best when it is shared: one department's interprofessional team effort to reduce wait time for head and neck radiation therapy patients

Best Fellow Oral Presentation

Winner: Rohan Salunkhe #36 - Dawn of staging for Head and Neck Soft Tissue Sarcoma: Validation of the novel 8th edition AJCC T classification and proposed stage groupings

Book Prizes

Clinical Care and Epidemiology:

Winner: Terrance Tang - #10 Long-term outcomes following fairly brief androgen suppression and stereotactic radiotherapy in high-risk prostate cancer: update from the fastr/fastr-2 trials

Biology and Technology:

Winner: Alana Thibodeau-Antonacci #163 - evaluating the inter-observer variability in the delineation of rectal lesions in endoscopy images

Quality assurance:

Winner: #4 Hannah Bacon - Association of artificial intelligence-screened interstitial lung disease with radiation pneumonitis and mortality in locally advanced non-small cell lung cancer

CanMEDS non-medical expert:

Winner: #16 Selena Laprade - Exploring trends in work satisfaction, stress and burnout among oncologists and oncology trainees

Medical Student Awards

Victoria Anthes Vijithan Sugumar Edward Wang

Radiation Therapy Travel Awards

Madette Galapin Cynthia Palmaria

CROF Run/Walk Winners

Maroie Barkati David Roberge Ross Halperin Caroline Holloway

COMP Awards

The J.R. Cunningham Young Investigator Awards

3rd – Jakob Marshall for their abstract: TRAJECTORY VMAT OPTIMIZATION USING A 4PI INTENSITY MAP

2nd – Aly Khalifa for their abstract: MACHINE LEARNING PLAN ADAPTATION IMPROVES QUALITY OF ULTRA-HYPOFRACTIONATED ADAPTIVE RADIATION THERAPY FOR PROSTATE CANCER ON A 1.5T MR-LINEAR ACCELERATOR

1st – Jericho O'Connell for their abstract: NON-COPLANAR, ADAPTIVE, LUNG PATIENT TREATMENT PLANNING ON A LOW-COST, KILOVOLTAGE, ISOCENTRIC RADIOTHERAPY (KVIRT) SYSTEM

The Sylvia Fedoruk Prize

Winner: Jesse Tanguay

The COMP Jerry Battista Award

Winner: Homeira Mosalaei

The Michael S. Patterson Publication Impact Prize

Winner: Jean Theberge

Fellow of COMP (FCOMP) Award

Winner: Michelle Nielsen

Abstract Award

2nd – Claudiu Cojocaru - Development of a Primary Standard of Absorbed Dose to Water for Proton Beams

1st Monica Serban - Impact of Brachytherapy Applicators on Clinical Outcomes in Cervix Cancer: An Embrace-I Study Analysis

Poster Presentation

1st - Ronan Lefol - validation of GPU-accelerated Monte Carlo simulations for patient-specific CT dose calculations
Ronan Lefol

2nd - Robert Weersink – Ovoid Applicator Commissioning Using 2D Optical Scintillating Imaging

Oral Presentation

1st - Nolan Jackson – Dual Enhancement in the Radiosensitivity of Prostate Cancer Through Nanotechnology and Chemotherapeutics

 2^{nd} - Fletcher Barrett – Predicting Lung Dose for Right-Sided Breast Cancer Patients with Traditional Machine Learning and Neural Networks

COMP Science Spoken Succinctly (S3) Awards (3)

3rd – Kayla O'Sullivan-Steben

1st (tied for first place) – Jade Fisher and Jamiel Nasser

COMP Inclusion, Diversity, Equity, and Accessibility (IDEA) Student Travel Awards

Undergraduate student – Amal Aziz Graduate student – Isabelle St-Martin